Currently Reading: Going Clear

Aside

I haven’t posted any book reviews in a few days so I didn’t want anyone to think I’m a slacker! I’m still working my way through Going Clear: Scientology, Hollywood and the Prison of Belief by Lawrence Wright. I’m about a third of the way finished with the book and hope to complete it by the end of the week.

I think religion in general is fascinating – I would consider myself an agnostic – but Scientology is interesting to me because it’s both relatively new and largely shrouded in mystery. To be clear (pun not intended), I’m curious from a “what makes people believe in this?” perspective and not an “I want to convert!” perspective.

After I’m done, I think I might watch The Master, a 2012 film by Paul Thomas Anderson, which may or may not be about Scientology but looks fascinating regardless.

Leave a comment